



## MEDIA RELEASE 3rd May 2013

## **Magic Night at the Bool**

## By GRV Website

Early speed was the order of the night at Warrnambool on Wednesday when renowned speed demons Black Magic Opal (\$1.70) and Magic Diva (\$5.00) won the Group 2 Warrnambool Cup and Group 2 Warrnambool Classic respectively.

Both greyhounds led all the way from Box 5, with Black Magic Opal part of a Trifecta in the Warrnambool Cup for trainer Jason Thompson, whose greyhounds Innocent Til (2nd) and Ronan Izmir (3rd) filled the minor placings.

"He makes his own luck in the way he begins," Thompson said after the win. "Warrnambool is a great place to race and to run first, second and third in a race like this is an enormous thrill."



Black Magic Opal race s away to win the Warrnambool Cup (Pics Clint Anderson)

Meanwhile, Magic Diva's owner Peter Brown said her win in the Warrnambool Classic was reward for consistency.

"She has run first or second in 13 of her past 14 starts," Brown said. Peter's son Darren trains Magic Diva, who won in 25.21sec, while Black Magic Opal won in 24.97sec.

Continued on Page 2...

## AUSTRALIAN BREYHOUND RABING ASSOCIATION

After the winner the field finished in the following order 2<sup>nd</sup> Innocent Til (\$5.10) 3<sup>rd</sup> Ronan Izmir (\$8.90) 4<sup>th</sup> Deadly Vane (\$12.00), 5<sup>th</sup> Walk Hard (\$8.80), 6<sup>th</sup> Godric Gryfindor (\$33.40) 7<sup>th</sup> Ollie Bale (\$20.00) & Dr. Don (\$40.70).

Black Magic Opal is a Black dog whelped May 2011 by Magic Sprite from Awesome Opal (Most Awesome x Opal Glow). Black Magic Opal is raced Black Opal Syndicate and trained by Jason Thompson. He has raced 47 times for 35 wins and six placings. After adding the \$43,750 first prize for the Warrnambool Cup his stake earnings stand at \$585,215.

Listed below are the past winners of the Warrnambool Cup it is believed the Cup was conducted on the old Warrnambool track as far back as 1961 but records since 1972 show that many a top performer has won the feature event over the years.

1972 Tien Shan, 1973 Natural Power, 1974 Uba Lass, 1975 Sylvan Prince, 1976 Busy Penny, 1977 Tem Dasher, 1978 Roisheen's Son, 1979 Imaturner, 1980 Tempix, 1981 Kuda's Talent, 1982 So Blue, 1983 Lady Lilly, 1984 Super Mira, 1985 Kilmarney Lad, 1986 Larrikin Lewis, 1987 McWilliam Boy, 1988 High In Space, 1989 Gun Fury, 1990 Hard Rain, 1991 McGuane, 1992 Bomber Gleeson, 1993 Nova Express, 1994 Fitzroy Express, 1995 Midnight Flirt, 1996 Morrant, 1997 Another Currency, 1998 Macorna Lad, 1999 Honcho Classic, 2000 Kantarn Bale, 2001 Sweet Silkab, 2002 Kantarn Bale, 2003 Francesca Bale, 2004 Harvey Bale 2005 Sun Hero, 2006 Brilliant Lee, 2007 Axe Handle 2008 El Galo, 2009 Hanify's Impact, 2010 Nova Surf, 2011 Arsonist, 2012 Dyna Bert and 2013 Ronan Izmir.



Magic Diva leads all the way to win the Warrnambool Classic

After the winner the field finished in the following order 2<sup>nd</sup> Dream It (\$2.80), 3<sup>rd</sup> Sir Hugo (\$47.70) 4<sup>th</sup> Cosmic Station (\$7.10), 5<sup>th</sup> Watta Good Dee (\$22.30), 6<sup>th</sup> Trail Blazing (\$10.80) 7<sup>th</sup> Elite Diva (\$12.80) and Little Regus (\$4.00).

Magic Diva is a Black Bitch whelped July 2012 by Elite State from Encampbell (Brett Lee x Wickepin Web) she is raced by the Peter Brown and trained by Darren Brown at Lara in Victoria. Magic Diva has raced 39 times for 21 wins and 11 placings, adding the Classic's first prize of 75,000 her overall stake earnings went to \$120,001.

The Warrnambool Classic was first conducted by the club in 1991 with greyhound pups nominated in record numbers during early 1990. Like any event of its type the actual race is very difficult to win given the length of time involved from rearing to racing. The Honour roll contains some outstanding winners some of which have gone on to win group one features and in the case of Brett Lee inducted into the AGRA Hall Of Fame.

1991 Kinta's Way, 1992 Wild Pirate, 1993 Dinney's Host, 1994 New Locomotion, 1995 Prince Of Thiefs, 1996 Blue Volcano, 1997 Fine Carousel, 1998 Witch Honcho, 1999 At The Helm, 2000 Our Daisy, 2001 Brett Lee, 2002 Zed Three, 2003 Brumby Lad, 2004 That's Critical, 2005 Ace Hi Rumble, 2006 Auf Wiedersehen, 2007 Deception Bay, 2008 Lynlea's King, 2009 Bordain, 2010 Cosmic Chief, 2011 Compacto, 2012 El Brooklyn and 2013 Premier Event.

> For more information please contact: Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838